Six Nations Info - Iroquois Confederacy Social Studies Grade 6

There were five nations in the original Iroquois Confederacy: the Mohawk, Seneca, Oneida, Onondaga, and Cayuga tribes. Later a sixth nation, the Tuscarora tribe, joined the confederation.

The Iroquois tribes are original residents of the northeastern woodlands area. The heart of the Iroquois homeland is located in what is now New York state. (The Tuscaroras originally lived further to the south, and migrated north to join the rest of the Iroquois tribes.) Many Iroquois people still live in New York today, or in Canada (Ontario and Quebec).

“People of the Great Flint”

“People of the Hills”

“People of the Great Hill”

“People of the Great Swamp”

“People of the Standing Stone”

“Hemp Gatherers”